If you don’t know about internet life before Reddit or Tumblr, then Yahoo Groups is gonna sound like something you found in the Yellow Pages. Ask your parents, kids. For some of you old school internet users, we have some sad news – Yahoo Groups deletion coming December 14th. Okay, not the whole thing just the stuff that made it fun. Like polls, links, files, and stuff like that.
Some of you may have forgotten about the groups page, but they are still around. The old school way of looking at forums from TV shows to computing topics. In a support document, Yahoo says that, effective December 14th, it will be deleting all content that has been posted to Yahoo Groups. Obviously, that means a complete shutdown will be coming, but we don’t have a date for that yet.
Yahoo Groups deletion of old content means that new content will no longer be uploaded starting Monday, October 21st. What can you do when the content is deleted – not much really. You will still be able to browser groups directory, and even request an invite. Although, I’m not exactly sure why you would if there is nothing to browse. If you are still in a group, you will still be able to email that group.
Here’s Yahoo’s list of what it will remove:
- Email Updates
- Message Digest
- Message History
For nostalgia purposes, if you want to save content from a group before it is removed: Yahoo says you can download your files directly from your group’s page, or by going to Verizon Media’s Privacy Dashboard page, signing into your Yahoo account, and requesting your group’s data. (Yahoo says it will email you once your data is ready for download.) And some of the content may get preserved by the Internet Archive, according to archivist Jason Scott. Yahoo Groups deletion of content is surprising, especially since Verizon doesn’t know what to do with it. But, it is a part of history that is going away.